Countdown to CVA’s 2018 Musical and Art Show – Hairspray

Cast poster with headshots of each actor in an oval frameThe Central Valley Academy Drama Club will present the romantic comedy “Hairspray” on Thursday, Mar. 1, Friday, Mar. 2, and Saturday, Mar. 3 in CVA’s Seymour Burton Auditorium.  Showtime is 7 p.m. each evening. Tickets are $9 each and go on sale Friday, Feb. 16 at Central Valley Academy. Ticket sale information.

Set in 1960s Baltimore, “Hairspray” follows dance-loving teen Tracy Turnblad as she auditions for a spot on “The Corny Collins Show” and wins. She becomes an overnight celebrity, a trendsetter in dance, fun and fashion. “Hairspray” debuted on Broadway in 2002, but its challenge of body shaming, stereotypes, bullying, and prejudice still resonate today. Read the full synopsis on the Music Theatre International website. The show is rated PG-13. 

Meet the cast

Lydia Engel as Tracy Turnblad
Ryan Talarico as Corny Collins
Dakota Turk as Edna Turnblad
Madilyn Thomas as Penny Pingleton
Sara Marmet as Velma Von Tussle
Abby Brown as Amber Von Tussle
Noah Geloso as Link Larkin
Brandin Smalls as Seaweed J. Stubbs
Amadia Howard as Little Inez
Samajia Jefferson as Motormouth Maybelle
Adam Matthews as Wilbur Turnblad
Erica Thorp as Prudy Pingleton

Council Members

Seth Myers as Brad
Jacob Seeger as Fender
Daniel Paddock as Joey
Josh Clanton as Sketch
Kyle Moulton as IQ
Trevor David as Harrimen F. Spritzer
Jack Michael as Mr. Pinky
Trevor David as Gym Teacher
Jack Michael as Principal
Erica Thorp as Matron
Katelyn Judson as Shelley
Kara Reinhardt as Lou Ann
Abbie Hannigan as Brenda
Talia Sardina as Dorene
Hayley Stefanec as Tammy

The Dynamites

Madelyn Engel as Aliyah
Destiny Tayler as Judine
Madison Campagna as Kamilah
Mary Sweeny as Shayna


Dale Windecker as Dennis
Nicholas Kennedy as Henry
Jade Shepardson as Yolanda

Other Parents

Sam Scalora as Harold
Donald Overaacker as Stanley
Alyssa Burch as Maureen
Emily Madison as Patty

Student Roles

Caleb Rose as Alvin
Sophie Hyde as Cindy Watkins
Chloe Plows as Dawn
Colin Culver as Derek
Michael Conley as Duane
Gary Bemis as Eddy
Emma Wheet as Eileen
Donald Judson as Eugene
Evan Lamb as Francis
Kiley Ball as Gail
Rew King as Gilbert
Mackenzie Murphy as Gloria
Mariah Mills as Helen
Ethan Parkhurst as Herbert
Claire Engel as Holly
Alexis Rando as Janis
Alyssa Johnson as Julia
Tyler Rando as Leon
Amara Howard as Lorraine
Abigail Overacker as Marilyn
Dylan Powers as Marvin
Autumn Tayler as Nancy
Michael Shafer as Phillip
Michael Martinez as Rickey
Abigail Paddock as Rosemary
Ryan Parks as Sandra
Breonna Dygert as Sheila
Michael Thorp as Simon
DonTay Howard as Stooie
Audreanna Greene as Sylvia
Sierra Howard as Tamara
Michael Scouten as Theodore
Ivy King as Wanda
Noah Johnston as Wesley

Stage Crew

Jason Diedrich
Shivam Patel
Daniel Harter
Andrew Perry
Mark Loomis

Light Board

Carter Wynn

Sound Assistant

Rachel Cullen

Technical Assistant

Caroline Gardner


Lauren Bush
Alyssa Jones
Elizabeth Morgan
Sierra Rando
Briana Terry
Gabriella Campilango
Savanna May
Katelyn Overacker
Alexa Root
Reese Wellington
Brianna Cotton
Hannah Morey
Kaitlin Przybyla
Sylvia Taft


Caroline Gardner, Keyboard II
Riley Rich, Violin II