main content starts here

Archive for August, 2015

By August 27, 2015 Read More →

BOE approves Herkimer wrestlers joining CVA squad

On Wednesday, Aug. 26, the Central Valley Board of Education voted to allow wrestlers from Herkimer to participate on the Central Valley wrestling team for the 2015-16 school year. Superintendent Rich Hughes made the recommendation, saying the decision was not taken lightly and that it involved weighing numerous factors. “The first consideration for any sports merger […]

By August 25, 2015 Read More →

Administrator biographies

Richard Keeler, CVA principal High School Principal Rich Keeler graduated from Mohawk in 1998. He earned his A.A.S. in Business Administration from Herkimer County Community College in 2000. He went on to Utica College where he earned his B.A., majoring in Business Economics and minoring in Secondary Education. In 2005, he graduated from SUNY Albany […]

Posted in: Archive
By August 25, 2015 Read More →

Assistant Superintendent Stocker accepts Stockbridge CSD job

Central Valley Assistant Superintendent Cynthia Stocker has been named the new superintendent at Stockbridge CSD. Mrs. Stocker will begin her new job in early October. Mrs. Stocker began her career in Whitesboro as a special education teacher and later a kindergarten teacher. She came to Mohawk as the Director of Student Services and was later named high […]

By August 21, 2015 Read More →

Barringer Sneaker Snag finds homes for outgrown sneakers

Has your child outgrown his or her sneakers? Would you like to find a new home for that footwear? If so, Barringer Road Elementary’s Sneaker Snag is your solution. Barringer Road is collecting clean, gently used sneakers (no stains, rips, etc.) that school staff will distribute to children who need a pair. Just drop the sneakers […]

By August 14, 2015 Read More →

District welcomes new leaders

Central Valley School District will be filled with new administrative faces when school begins this fall. At its meeting on Monday, Aug. 11 the board of education approved changes at Central Valley Academy and Jarvis Middle School. Richard Keeler is now CVA Principal. Superintendent Rich Hughes recommended Mr. Keeler to replace former principal Renee Rudd […]

By August 14, 2015 Read More →

Central Valley hosts youth soccer camp

More than 60 Central Valley soccer players aged 5 to 14 years old spent Monday, Aug 11 through Thursday, Aug. 13 at the third annual Central Valley soccer camp at Lower Tolpa. Players practiced their individual skills and team play each day. The week ended with games on Thursday night, highlighted by the Alumni Game. Men and […]

By August 14, 2015 Read More →

Rumble of Thunder—August 14, 2015

It’s hard to believe that the 15-16 school year is right around the corner.  Staff reports for their first day on September 2nd with our Thunder returning on September 8th. The summer has been busy, preparing for the upcoming school year. Some might think the summer is a quiet time for educators, but it couldn’t […]

By August 14, 2015 Read More →

CVA boys refine skills at St. Lawrence soccer camp

The last week of July, Coach Jim Mott and 15 Central Valley Academy boy soccer players traveled to St Lawrence University to take part the Lake Placid Soccer Centre’s Competitive Soccer Camp. For six days, the players competed against teams from Montreal and across New York. A team of coaches from the world famous Coerver Coaching Academy drilled the […]

By August 14, 2015 Read More →

Coaches List

Fall sports 2016 Boys Cross-country Varsity: Charles Maxson, cmaxson@cvalleycsd.org Modified: Joe Geniti, jgeniti@cvalleycsd.org Football Varsity Head: Jon Cole, jcole@cvalleycsd.org Varsity Assistant: Todd Hoffman, thoffman@cvalleycsd.org Varsity Assistant: Bob Bush, rbush@cvalleycsd.org Jr. Varsity Head: Roy Upson, rupson@cvalleycsd.org Jr. Varsity Assistant: Tim Lawrence, tlawrence@cvalleycsd.org Modified Head: Joe Patrei, jpatrei@cvalleycsd.org Modified Assistant: Chris French, cfrenchacn@msn.com Soccer Varsity: James Mott, jmott@cvalleycsd.org Jr. […]