main content starts here

CVA Announcements

By September 4, 2015

All Central Valley students to receive free school meals

Beginning on the first day of school, Tuesday, Sept. 8, Central Valley School District students will provide free breakfast and lunch to all students who eat at a Central Valley school. That’s right, every student. The district received notification midday on Friday, Sept. 4 that New York’s Child Nutrition Program had approved Central Valley’s application for the […]

By August 27, 2015

BOE approves Herkimer wrestlers joining CVA squad

On Wednesday, Aug. 26, the Central Valley Board of Education voted to allow wrestlers from Herkimer to participate on the Central Valley wrestling team for the 2015-16 school year. Superintendent Rich Hughes made the recommendation, saying the decision was not taken lightly and that it involved weighing numerous factors. “The first consideration for any sports merger […]

By August 25, 2015

Assistant Superintendent Stocker accepts Stockbridge CSD job

Central Valley Assistant Superintendent Cynthia Stocker has been named the new superintendent at Stockbridge CSD. Mrs. Stocker will begin her new job in early October. Mrs. Stocker began her career in Whitesboro as a special education teacher and later a kindergarten teacher. She came to Mohawk as the Director of Student Services and was later named high […]

By August 14, 2015

Central Valley hosts youth soccer camp

More than 60 Central Valley soccer players aged 5 to 14 years old spent Monday, Aug 11 through Thursday, Aug. 13 at the third annual Central Valley soccer camp at Lower Tolpa. Players practiced their individual skills and team play each day. The week ended with games on Thursday night, highlighted by the Alumni Game. Men and […]

By August 14, 2015

CVA boys refine skills at St. Lawrence soccer camp

The last week of July, Coach Jim Mott and 15 Central Valley Academy boy soccer players traveled to St Lawrence University to take part the Lake Placid Soccer Centre’s Competitive Soccer Camp. For six days, the players competed against teams from Montreal and across New York. A team of coaches from the world famous Coerver Coaching Academy drilled the […]

By August 14, 2015

Coaches List

Fall sports 2016 Boys Cross-country Varsity: Charles Maxson, cmaxson@cvalleycsd.org Modified: Joe Geniti, jgeniti@cvalleycsd.org Football Varsity Head: Jon Cole, jcole@cvalleycsd.org Varsity Assistant: Todd Hoffman, thoffman@cvalleycsd.org Varsity Assistant: Bob Bush, rbush@cvalleycsd.org Jr. Varsity Head: Roy Upson, rupson@cvalleycsd.org Jr. Varsity Assistant: Tim Lawrence, tlawrence@cvalleycsd.org Modified Head: Joe Patrei, jpatrei@cvalleycsd.org Modified Assistant: Chris French, cfrenchacn@msn.com Soccer Varsity: James Mott, jmott@cvalleycsd.org Jr. […]

By July 9, 2015

CVA unveils new senior Advanced Studio Art program

Beginning in September 2015, Central Valley Academy will offer serious senior art students the opportunity to pursue art at a higher level. Working with Herkimer Central School and Herkimer BOCES, CVA seniors can earn College Now and AP credits in graphics, drawing, painting, mixed media, sculpture, pottery and advanced art. Participants would attend CVA or BOCES […]

By June 23, 2015

BOCES assignment becomes a fight against autism

When their BOCES visual communications class assigned CVA seniors Seth Young and Jade Judson a project to promote awareness, the two puzzled over a cause they felt would be worth promoting. Autism was the natural choice. Jade’s three-year-old brother Brody has autism. But that was not the only reason to focus on the disorder. They knew autistic students at […]

By June 22, 2015

Cupcake Wars 2015

June was again time for the big throw down as students in Family and Consumer Science teacher Kathy Nasypany’s Baking classes took their best shots at the crown in the 2015 Cupcake Wars. This spring’s theme was “Summertime.” Groups of up to five students created their cupcake masterpieces and then were rated by guest judges former Crave Bake Shop […]

By June 10, 2015

CVA celebrates diversity

On May 21, the Alliance Group and Foreign Language Club hosted Diversity Day at Central Valley Academy. Students were exposed to music, poetry, artwork and were able to experience different cuisines and crafts from around the world. The small gym was transformed into a cultural market with stations set up to taste foods such as lo mein, quesadillas, […]