main content starts here

Congrats to Thunder Section 3 Champs – wrestlers and indoor track

Seven Thunder athletes have been crowned Section 3 champions — five wrestlers and two indoor track athletes.

Mason Bush (99), Jon Charles (106), CJ Walz (126), Hunter Shaut (138) and Tanner Cook (145) each won their respective weight classes at the Section 3 Class B Tournament held on Feb. 4. CVA captured the team title despite forfeiting in three weight classes. The Thunder advance 12 wrestlers to this weekend’s state qualifiers. Bush, Charles, Walz, and Cook enter the tournament as top seeds.

Triple jumper Jake Slaughter and shot putter Lindsey Gravelding took top honors at the Section 3 Class A Championships on Feb. 9 at Onondaga Community College. Slaughter’s winning jump of 41’1 1/4″ topped his nearest competitor by almost two feet. Gravelding’s 31′ 4 3/4″ outdistanced the second place toss by seven inches. Slaughter, Gravelding, Danielle Juby (second in 55-m dash by 2/100 second and long jump) and Camryn Stone (second in the 600-mby 4/100 second) will advance to the Feb. 15 state qualifiers.