main content starts here

Ilion-Mohawk voters elect seven to new school board

On Wednesday, Mar. 27, voters of the Ilion-Mohawk Central School District elected seven candidates to serve as members of the new district’s board of education. In accordance with New York State Education Law, the candidates receiving the greatest number of votes will serve the longest terms.

  • Elected to three-year terms expiring June 30, 2016 were William Lennox (1087), Vicki Judd (862) and Stephen Coupe (850).
  • Elected to two-year terms expiring June 30, 2015 were Fred Schell (802) and Daniel LaLonde (760).
  • Elected to one-year terms expiring June 30, 2014 were Matthew Shedd (690) and Walt Roginski (661).

Also receiving votes were:

Robert Bronner (657), Deborah Schoff (535), Bonnie Coffin (521), James Vitale (507), M. Bridget McKinley (503), Thomas Goldin (465), Jeffrey Sperl (436), Lori Sementilli (366), Robert Berger (290), Edward Jackson (243), Hans Hendrick (235), Jennifer Pedersen (209), Melissa Reed (105) and Orlo Burch (99).

The new board of education will hold its Organizational Meeting 6:30 p.m. on Thursday, Mar. 28 at the Jarvis Junior-Senior High School Auditorium, 26 Grove St., Mohawk.

Herkimer-Fulton-Hamilton-Otsego BOCES District Superintendent Mark Vivacqua will convene the meeting, administer the oath of office to the new members, conduct the election for board president, and swear in the new president. The new president will then preside over the remainder of the meeting.