main content starts here

Meet staff member Caitlin Kerr

Photo of Caitlin KerrHi! My name is Caitlin Kerr. I am a third grade teacher at Fisher Elementary. This is my first year teaching as a general education teacher.

What do you like best about what you do?

I love working with a group of students who are diversified culturally. Each day brings something new and interesting. Not only are the students learning, but each day I learn something new as well. Teaching is the most rewarding career. I am proud to be a part of Central Valley!

What event here at Central Valley CSD has made/makes a difference to you personally and in your career?

Working with such helpful and supportive staff has made me feel right at home. The committees such as PBIS are great. It is encouraging for students and sets a view for all to focus on everyday values and traits.

What former jobs have you held?

I was a waitress at Piggy Pat’s BBQ for 15 years. I was a former tutor for students with disabilities and a teacher assistant in special education for three years.

Where were you educated?

I received my Bachelor’s from Utica College. I then continued my education at Utica College where I received a Dual Masters in Special Education (1-6) and Childhood Education (1-6).

Where have you lived?

I have lived in Middleville, NY my entire life.

If you could do anything on a weekend, what would you do?

Relax up to camp on Morehouse Lake with family and friends. Go four wheeling, swim and sit by the fire.

If we were to listen to your iPod or sound system, what would be playing?

Miranda Lambert or 80’s rock such as Aerosmith and Def Leppard.

What is your favorite television show/movie/actor?

My favorite actor is Will Ferrell and my favorite television show is Modern Family.

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go and why?

Ireland, it is absolutely beautiful from what I have hear. I love the sound of bag pipes and I come from an Irish background.

What one thing would you share that people might not know about you?

I love to snowmobile, hike, camp, four wheel and Kayak. I am an outdoorsy person. Not your typical girly girl  😎 .