Group of students on risers holding certificates, giant Gratitude sign behind

Jarvis Middle School recognized students who demonstrated November's character theme—gratitude.

To receive the honor, students must demonstrate gratitude — that feeling of thankfulness and appreciation for someone or something; and a social emotion that signals our recognition tto those around them. Student names are announced over the daily announcements. At the end of the month, nominated students receive a certificate, gather for a group photo, and are entered in a prize drawing.

"In this day when people often take things for granted, gratitude is especially important," said Assistant Principal Jessica Bowman.

"Gratitude tells others that we truly appreciate what has been given to us or done for us. Gratitude shows that we recognize the kindness of others."

To learn more about November's theme of gratitude, watch the slideshow shared during a school assembly. 

Gratitude honorees

Grade 5

Hayleigh Arrigo, RaeLynne Brewer, Jayden Briggs, Abby Chandler, Augie Ciaello, Makenzie Coffin, Brielle Cress, Brayden Crim, Aubrie Crozier, Kylie Donahue, Hartley Edick, Demarcus Forsythe, Chloe Green, Christian Johnston, Hunter Keeler, Tessa Keeler, Adalyn Klink, Riley McGraw, Bionca Prokopienko, Lindsey Swick, Rory Williams

Grade 6

Lily Baron, Kiley Beam, Christopher Bruck, Makynzie Carretero, Vinny Chase, Malahki Clark, Jasmine Corsette, Leah Davis, Olivia Day, Mariana Esposito, Paityn Gatto, Avery Guido, Harper Hall, Destiny Hopkins, Kristiana Johnson, Angel Kowalczyk, Brianna Lafountain, Eve Lugo, Brynlee Metott, Sincere Millan, Evie Mucurio, Lily Olsey, Marell Pinney, Tanner Ricci, Sarah Sanchez, Bryce Talarico, Lilliana Tubia, Delaney Tubia, Brenna Virkler, Fiona Watkins

Grade 7

Nikki Bennett, Leah Brown, Cullen Judd, Salina Latt, Ava Lewis, Kyla Patterson, Lilly Rappa, Arianna Renshaw, Brody Rinehart, Jisela Velazquez, Deven Windecker, Kaydence Zimmerman

Grade 8

Jayana Boyd, Ariyana Kasirye, Grace Kelly, Carli Mula, Casey Ossont, Bradi Risi, Molly Shepherd, Antonio Soullas, Anastasia Spatto, Joshua Tubia, Brayden Voorhees, Michael Walker